Census TableBuilder incorporates many different navigation techniques to assist you in customising your Census data tables. As you become more familiar with the product your navigation methods will improve and searching will become more accurate.

10.1 Navigation overview


Picture showing the customise table view. The ‘Table, Graph and Map View’ tabs, and the ‘Change Database' and 'TableBuilder Help' links are displayed on the page.

Table, Graph and Map View Tabs
Select these tabs to toggle between viewing your table as a data table, a graph or a map.
Picture showing the 'Table, Graph and Map View' tabs.


Table View sub-menu items
Select these links to open the customise table pane, manage your custom data groups or view your saved or queued tables.

Picture showing the links to ‘Customise Table’, ‘My Custom Data’ and ‘My Tables’ views.


TableBuilder online help
TableBuilder online help is available through the TableBuilder link'TableBuilder Help' link. located in the top right of the screen throughout the application. Clicking on the link will open a new window containing relevant help information for the current screen as well as links to further help information.

Change database
Selecting the Change Database button Picture of the ‘Change Database’ button. will allow you to select another database. Remember, your active table will not transfer between databases. You will need to save your existing table before transferring, otherwise it will be lost and not visible when you return.


Add to row
The Add to Row button will add any selected items to the row in the table.

Picture of the 'Add to Row' button.

Add to column
The Add to Column button will add any selected items to the column in the table.

Picture of the 'Add to Column' button.

Remove from Table
The Remove from Table button will remove an item from the table. You must select the item in the Customise Table pane for this button to become active. This can also be used to select one item within a classification to be removed instead of the entire classification.

Picture of the 'Remove from Table' button.

Collapse All
Collapse All will collapse all levels of a tree structure that has been expanded and return to the top level.
Picture of the 'Collapse All' function.

Un-tick All
Un-tick All is used when more than one item in a tree structure has been selected (ticked) and the user wishes to remove all the selections.
Picture of the 'Untick All' function.

Items selected
Items selected shows the total numbers of items that have been selected in the tree structure and is automatically updated as selection are made or removed. For example -
Two items selected

Information icon
Click on the Information icon to view additional classification information and its coinciding data quality statement.
Picture of the 'information' link.

Logout
The Logout link is displayed in the top right of the screen throughout the application, after you have successfully logged in. You can click on this link at any time to end your session. Any unsaved tables will be lost one you logout.
Logout link

Expandable folders
These are designed to expand and collapse levels of classifications and geographies:
  • This arrow and folder button Picture of the twisty and folder icons. indicates there are more levels below to be expanded.
  • This down arrow and folder button Picture of the twisty and folder icons.indicates the last level.

Tree controls (used in My Custom Data)
The ABS uses tree controls or expandable lists to organise information, these are indicated by a plus and minus symbol.
  • The plus Plus symbol indicates that the list is expandable. Click on the plus symbol to expand (or open) the list. Expanding a list will only open one level at a time. You may have to click several times to view the fully expanded list.
  • The minus Minus symbol indicates that the section has been fully expanded. Click on the minus symbol Minus to collapse the list back to the main heading or top level.

10.2 Actions toolbar

This toolbar appears above the Table Pane and is used to complete basic functions in a table.

Picture of the trash bin and actions toolbar.

Bin
The Bin allows you to remove entire classifications from the table using the drag and drop method. Click on the classification label in the table, hold and drag the label over the bin. The lid will open and you can drop the classification in by releasing the mouse button. The classification is removed from the table and you will need to press the Retrieve Data button to repopulate your table with data.

Picture of the trash bin function.

Retrieve Data button
The Retrieve Data button populates your table with data once your table is constructed. The Automatically Retrieve Data box will automatically populate your table after each change. The Automatically Retrieve Data function is not recommended in Large Table mode.

Picture of the 'Retrieve Data' button and check box to 'Automatically Retrieve Data' option.

Percentage
Select the Percentage drop down list to view the data in your table as a percentage based on the row or column of your table.

Picture of the percentage drop down list.

Save Table
The Save Table button is used to save your table design within TableBuilder so you can use it again later. The saved table will appear in the My Tables view.

Picture of the save table button.

Clear Table
The Clear Table button will clear all contents of your current table. Any unsaved data will be lost.

Picture of the clear table button.