Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate the ABS website
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1381.8 - ACT and Region . . . A Statistical Atlas, 2006  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 23/08/2006  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product
  • About this Release
  • More births in Ngunnawal and Queanbeyan; higher incomes in Red Hill and Yass Valley (Media Release)
August 23, 2006
Embargoed: 11:30am (AEST)

More births in Ngunnawal and Queanbeyan; higher incomes in Red Hill and Yass Valley

Canberra suburbs with the highest numbers of births in 2004 were Ngunnawal, Kambah and Amaroo while Queanbeyan, Eurobodalla and the Bega Valley reported the most births in the surrounding Australian Capital Region, according to a new report from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The publication, ACT and Region...A Statistical Atlas, found the most densely populated Canberra suburbs were Palmerston, Braddon, and Amaroo in June 2005, while Goulburn and Queanbeyan were the most densely populated cities in the surrounding region.

Other highlights include:

South Canberra had higher income levels than the rest of the ACT, with highest mean taxable incomes for 2003-04 in Red Hill and Forrest (both $73,100) and Griffith ($70,500).

North Canberra experienced higher levels of unemployment in the March quarter 2006 with the highest unemployment rates occurring in Braddon (8%), Turner (7%) and Campbell (6%).

Elsewhere in the region, the highest mean taxable incomes were in Yass Valley ($51,900), Palerang ($47,000) and Queanbeyan ($45,800), while the highest unemployment rates were found in Eurobodalla (9%), Tumut Shire (7%) and Bega Valley (6%).

More details on population, housing, work and welfare are presented in a series of maps in ACT and Region...A Statistical Atlas (cat. no. 1381.8).

Media note:
Australian Capital Region = Bega Valley, Bombala, Boorowa, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Goulburn Mulwaree, Harden, Palerang, Queanbeyan, Snowy River, Upper Lachlan, Tumut Shire, Yass Valley and Young.

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2015

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.